McIlroy named PGA Tour player of the year

Jose Verdugo
Setiembre 12, 2019

McIlroy has been named the 2019 PGA Tour Player of the Year after a season highlighted by three wins, including the Players Championship and the Tour Championship, culminating in a $15 million payday as the FedEx Cup champion.

With three wins on the season (the Players, RBC Canadian Open and the Tour Championship), McIlroy matched Brooks Koepka for the most victories on tour. The Ulsterman's colleagues clearly took into account more than just their play at the four majors in 2019, which is how McIlroy ended with his third trophy.

McIlroy previously captured this award in 2012 and 2014.

There was much debate following the Tour Championship about whether the award should go to Koepka or McIlroy.

McIlroy also won the Byron Nelson Award for adjusted scoring average (69.057) for the third time in his career and led the PGA Tour in top-10s (14) and total strokes gained (2.551 average).

After playing exclusively in the United States until July, skipping the Irish Open at Lahinch, McIlroy racked up 14 top-10 finishes in the USA and vowed to repeat his US-based schedule in 2020 before admitting that with a May 28-31 date likely for the Irish Open in 2020, he'd "definitely" play if such a move is confirmed. That year, Nick Faldo won PGA Player of the Year while Wayne Levi won PGA Tour Player of the Year.

More news: Celta de Vigo defiende a Néstor Araujo de las críticas

McIlroy won the FedEx Cup for the second time this year, becoming just the second player - after Tiger Woods - to win the season-long race more than once, and the first to win the Players Championship and the FedEx Cup in the same season.

But McIlroy wasn't almost as good as Koepka in majors. He led the Tour money list with almost $9.7 million.

As it turns out, major championships aren't the only thing that matters.

But when it came to the majors, McIlroy finished tied for 21st at the Masters, tied for eighth at the PGA Championship, tied for ninth at the US Open and missed the cut at the British Open in his native Northern Ireland.

Kopeka finished in the top 10 in 18 of the last 19 rounds in major championships.

Im Sung-jae of South Korea was named the PGA Tour Rookie of the Year, lifting the renamed Arnold Palmer Award.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo