Three astronauts arrive at Int'l Space Station

Federico Mansilla
Julio 22, 2019

A Russian space capsule with three astronauts aboard has blasted off on a fast-track trip to the International Space Station.

In the eight minutes and 45 seconds it will take the Soyuz spacecraft to climb into that orbital plane, the station, moving at almost five miles per second, will have increased its lead to 2,436 miles. They will dock at the station at 6 p.m. and enter the space station at 8 p.m.

Morgan, Parmitano, and Skvortsov will be joining three astronauts who are already staying at the ISS: Russian cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin, and NASA astronauts Nick Hague and Christina Koch, The Verge noted. Hague and Ovchinin are set to return to Earth on October 3.

Their new crewmates bring a wealth of experience to the station. He spent 166 days on the station in 2013, participating in two spacewalks and docking four spacecraft.

Today's launch will be the first spaceflight for Morgan.

Morgan launched into space along with two others around 12:30 p.m.

More news: Japan votes for upper house; Abe's party seen as favorite

After a short video chat with friends and family back at Baikonur, along with a mandatory safety briefing, Skvortsov and company will settle in and perhaps mark the moment, at 10:56 p.m. on Saturday, when Armstrong stepped onto the Sea of Tranquillity 50 years ago. Such significant events demonstrate how important it is to go forward.

Highlights of upcoming investigations the crew will facilitate on the orbiting laboratory in the unique microgravity environment include the growth of moss aboard the station, a platform to attempt successful printing of biological tissues and bio-mining in space.

Their arrival restores the station's crew complement to six.

NASA TV will broadcast live coverage of the docking, hatch opening and welcome ceremonies as well as the liftoff.

On Friday night, the Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum projected an image of the Saturn V rocket that launched Apollo 11 into space, onto the Washington Monument. He was the commander of Expedition 24 in 2010 and was the flight engineer for Expedition 39 in 2014.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo