Phil Mickelson Took Advantage Of Risky Loophole With Double-Putt

Jose Verdugo
Junio 18, 2018

The US Golf Association was in damage control mode on Saturday, admitting they botched the US Open course set-up but defending a decision not to disqualify five-time major victor Phil Mickelson. He offered that he knows the rules and that taking a two-shot penalty was better than the alternative.

It's another chapter in the saga of Mickelson at the US Open - the only major tournament missing from Mickelson's resume and one in which he's finished runner-up six times.

Two-time major victor Zach Johnson said the USGA had "lost the course" because the strengthening afternoon wind combined with slick greens and tough pin positions had made some holes extremely challenging. "Sometimes in these situations it is just easier to take the two shots and move on".

"Honestly, I said to him, 'I can't help but laugh, '" he said.

Rose, the 2013 champion, shot a three-over 73 at Shinnecock Hills to end four over and trail Dustin Johnson, Daniel Berger, Tony Finau, and Brooks Koepka. He's never won a U.S. Open, but now he has etched himself a place in tournament lore - for all the wrong reasons.

Whether he likes it or not, the spectators at Shinnecock Hills today will not let Phil Mickelson forget that it's his birthday. The USGA chose to stick with its two-stroke penalty and nothing more, leaving it to Mickelson himself to determine any further punishment. After missing about a 15-foot putt, Mickelson ran over to his ball and hit it back to the hole, while it was still moving.

More news: Duque es el ganador de las elecciones presidenciales en Colombia

The USGA said overnight watering would reduce green speeds, and hole locations would be set up to be more accessible to players.

He then took a quick jog over to the ball and hit it as it still seemed to be moving. "If Mickelson had "stopped" or 'deflected" the ball, he would have been disqualified.

"He didn't deflect it or stop it".

That led to players struggling to hold greens with approach shots and even putting the ball off the green, due to extremely firm and overly fast conditions.

"I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display", he said. I know the rules and the ball was going to go off in a bad spot.

Amy Mickelson is reported as saying: "Phil called Mike Davis and said, "If I've done something that crosses the line that much, then I need to withdraw immediately".

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo

SIGUE NUESTRO PERIÓDICO