Larry Nassar's victims to receive 2018 Arthur Ashe Courage Award

Galtero Lara
May 17, 2018

ESPN's annual sports awards show will the ESPYs give its 2018 Arthur Ashe Courage Award to female athletes who came forward with their horror stories of sexual abuse at the hands of disgraced USA Gymnastics and Michigan State doctor Larry Nassar.

In a statement, vice president and editor of ESPN magazine Alison Overholt said, "We are honored to recognize the courage of these women at the 2018 ESPYs".

Aly and numerous other survivors spoke at Larry's sentencing hearings earlier this year which led to the disgraced doctor being sentenced to up to 175 years in prison on multiple counts of sexual assault. That group included Olympians such as Simone Biles, Gabby Douglas, Aly Raisman and McKayla Maroney, as well as scores of less famous victims whose voices were nonetheless important to the cause. It's unclear who will accept the honor and speak at the awards ceremony. Numerous top administrators have resigned at both Michigan State and USA Gymnastics, and both institutions have pledged to be extra diligent in the future in preventing abuses like Nassar's.

More news: Southampton in talks to extend Mark Hughes contract

Almost 200 girls and women accused Nassar of assaulting them and gave victim impact statements during Nassar's three sentencing hearings.

Previous recipients of the award - which is named after the tennis legend - include, Muhammad Ali; Billie Jean King; Nelson Mandela; and last year's honoree, Special Olympics founder Eunice Kennedy Shriver.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo