Former world number one Pliskova smashes hole in umpire's chair

Evarado Alatorre
May 17, 2018

Pliskova did not shake Mrozinska's hand and instead smashed her racket several times against the side of the umpire's chair, breaking the wood.

Former world No 1 Karolina Pliskova unleashed on the umpire's chair after her controversial defeat to Greece's Maria Sakkari at the Italian Open on Wednesday (Thursday NZ time).

At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova got engaged in a lengthy argument after she had an overhead smash called out. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favor and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.

More news: Andrés Guardado llegará hoy a México para ser operado

Pliskova, the No. 6 seed from the Czech Republic, lost 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the second round of the Italian Open.

Pliskova's error on the ensuing rally allowed Sakkari to serve for the match and the 22-year-old converted - which is when the Czech really let loose.

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna, who is also a professional player, threw her support behind her sibling by calling out the horrendous umpire decision. She moves into the third round, where she will face the victor of the second-round match between No.11 seed Angelique Kerber of Germany and Romania's Irina-Camelia Begu.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo

SIGUE NUESTRO PERIÓDICO