Congress petitions Supreme Court for urgent hearing

Evarado Alatorre
May 17, 2018

Yesterday's elections in Karnataka saw BJP bagging 104 seats of the 222 seats that went to polls. Yeddyurappa asked the Governor to allow him to take oath as the Chief Minister. Honourable Governor Shri Vajubhai Vala will administer the oath. For, the BJP can still engineer defections from the two main opposition parties - Congress and the Janata Dal (S) - who have a total strength of 125 seats.

The court also observed that the general trend of its past judgements was not to issue injunction or restrain the governor.

With this decision, the Governor has not take into account the recent precedents in Goa, Meghalaya and Manipur, where the single largest party (Congress) was not invited to form the government.

We got information from agencies that a lot of information has leaked. With 105 MLA-elects, including an Independent, the BJP is seven seats short of majority in the 224-seat assembly.

We are suddenly reminded of a Panchatantra story of our childhood days, about a monkey making hay while two cats fought - do ki ladhai mein teesre ka labh. "The swearing-in ceremony will be on tomorrow (Thursday) morning", senior BJP leader K.S.Eshwarappa confirmed to Mint over the phone.

More news: Before he burglarized an office building, he did a nine-second dance

After 24 hours of political drama, H.D. Kumaraswamy, the JD (S) state president who has been named by the Congress-JD (S) combine as its chief ministerial candidate, alleged that his MLAs were being offered bribes by the BJP leaders, and were offered up to Rs 100 crore and a cabinet berth. "Calling an immoral and illegal government to be sworn in as an illegitimate child can not sustain the scrutiny of the Constitution or the test of law", Mr Surjewala said at a press conference. On the other hand, the alacrity with which the Congress leadership has reached out to JD (S) seeking a post-election alliance to form a coalition government underscores their common interest to ensure that BJP is kept out of power.

"Election to the Karnataka Assembly was held on 12th May and results were announced on 15th May". The JD (S) won 37 seats and its all, the BSP 1. While in Bombay Karnataka, the BJP won 30 of the 50 seats, reducing the Congress tally to 17, from 31 in 2013, in Central Karnataka out of 36 seats, the BJP increased its tally from three to 15 even as the Congress dropped from 19 to 13.

Speculations are also rife about Congress MLAs already booking rooms at the Eagleton resort on the outskirts of Bengaluru. Congress has extended its support, we have accepted it.

The Congress and JD (S) seem to have worked out a power-sharing formula for the next five years - while HD Kumaraswamy will be the Chief Minister, Congress will get to choose a Deputy CM and will reportedly go for a Dalit face.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo