BCCI Confirms! Get reedy for Women T-20 team IPL

Jose Verdugo
May 17, 2018

These plans have been further cemented as an exhibition game was announced to create buzz and excitement has been arranged, set to happen later this month on May 22 amongst the very topmost worldwide women players.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) formally announced their intentions to start a women's edition of the uber-successful cricketing tournament Indian Premier League.

The women's game has seen a wave of popularity in the country following the national team's run to the final of World Cup a year ago.

Women's cricket is rapidly growing in popularity in India and the T20 Challenge will take the tentative steps towards a women's IPL.

More news: "México no hace nada por nosotros": Donald Trump

"We were in talks with several Boards and I am pleased with the outcome". New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates, attacking batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for fastest half-century in T20Is, Australia's all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have confirmed their participation. "Danielle Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour".

The member of the Committee of Administration (COA) and former Indian woman cricketer Diana Edulji said that the domestic players, including Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy, will appear playing together in this match.

He further informed that the game will be played at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium and will be telecast live in India and across the world.

"The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women's league that can match the exuberance of IPL". The women's match will begin at 2 pm.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo