Brazil's President Temer calls for FIFA World Cup title

Maricruz Casares
May 16, 2018

That would include Liverpool, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Barcelona, AC Milan, Bayern Munich, Ajax and Inter Milan.

At present, the Club World Championship is held every year, but exclusively the strongest clubs in the continents as well as the reigning champion of the host country compete in this tournament. English giants Liverpool and Manchester United are among teams to be invited, with a qualification process to be put in place for subsequent tournaments, The Times reports.

Infantino says he has an offer of $25 billion over 12 years for the two competitions from a group of investors, which the Financial Times has identified as SoftBank from Japan and the governments of China and Saudi Arabia.

More news: CoNEP cauto por el llamado a una Constituyente Paralela

It's reported that UEFA and the Premier League are unhappy with the proposal and will oppose the new competition.

"This is part of the whole discussion around the worldwide match calendar, so if there is no annual Club World Cup and no Confederations Cup, it may not mean more matches for the players". The country already has five World Cup titles: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002, and was the host of the 2014 World Cup, in which the local team lost in the semi-finals to Germany - who eventually became the champions - with the embarrassing result of 7-1.

Infantino says he needs agreement soon because the consortium gave Federation Internationale de Football Association a 60-day deadline and after that the money will vanish and hopes to get approval at the Federation Internationale de Football Association conference in Moscow in June ahead of the World Cup.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo