UP Legislative Council Elections: All 13 candidates likely to be elected unopposed

Evarado Alatorre
Abril 16, 2018

"Congress president Rahul Gandhi has approved the candidature of Prem Chandra Mishra as Congress candidate for the biennial election", All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary Mukul Wasnik said in a release.

"I am thankful to Congress president Rahul Gandhi ji for reposing faith in me by declaring my name for council polls", Mishra told PTI. The Election Commission has announced April 26 as the polling date for the biennial elections to 11 Legislative Council seats that will fall vacant on May 6.

Besides them, Moshin Raja, the lone minister in the Uttar Pradesh government, are included in the list, the party said in a statement.

Nitish Kumar, Sushil Kumar Modi, Rabri Devi and Mangal Pandey are among those whose terms will end on May 6. The BSP's Dr Bhimrao Amedkar, who had lost to the BJP's ninth candidate during Rajya Sabha polls last month, has already filed nomination after the Samajwadi Party left one seat from its quota for the BSP to compensate Dr Amedkar's Rajya Sabha defeat.

The BJP has given tickets to 10 candidates while it had left one seat for the Apna Dal (S).

More news: Así va la VIII Cumbre de Américas en Perú — Fotos y videos

Asked about the background of the party's two new faces - Mahto and Anwar - Singh said both were "dedicated party workers".

Other prominent members whose terms are to expire on May 6 are a Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Rabri Devi and Health Minister Mangal Pandey.

Sanjay Paswan, a former Union Minister and Dalit face of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Bihar, is its third candidate.

Santosh Manjhi is the son of Hindustani Awam Morcha chief and former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi, who recently quit the NDA to join the RJD-led Grand Alliance.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo