PTI finalizes names for caretaker PM post

Maricruz Casares
Abril 16, 2018

After days-long deliberation and consultation within the party circles, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has finally consented on three names for the caretaker prime minister.

PTI has finalised the names of former chief justice of Pakistan Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, former governor State Bank Dr Ishrat Hussain and former commerce minister Abdul Razzaq Dawood for caretaker Prime Minister.

PTI Vice President Shah Mehmood Qureshi is set to submit the nominations to National Assembly Opposition Leader Khursheed Shah. He continued as the minister from 1999 to 2002. Husain is a Pakistani banker and economist who served as the dean of Institute of Business Administration (IBA) and the governor State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) from 1999 to 2006.

More news: Advierten que otros ataques en Siria provocarían caos internacional

Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Khursheed Shah held the third round of the consultations over the name of caretaker prime minister last Wednesday and chose to continue consultation to finalise the caretaker set-up by the mid of May. In 2013, Pakistan People's Party had also proposed Ishrat Hussain as caretaker PM but the PML-N rejected the proposal.

The caretaker prime minister would succeed Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to oversee the transfer of power as general elections are slated to be held in July.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo