Chandika Hathurusingha savours new challenge as head coach with Sri Lanka

Evarado Alatorre
Enero 14, 2018

Hathurusingha said Sri Lanka "has a lot to improve" but he was optimistic it could turn the corner after a dismal year of losses, leadership changes, injuries and scandal for the former World Cup winners.

Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe all have a point to prove when they battle each other in a tri-nation one-day tournament in Dhaka from Monday.

It is familiar ground for Hathurusingha, who quit as Bangladesh head coach in the middle of its disastrous tour of South Africa to return to his native Sri Lanka. Pothas was appointed as fielding coach of the national team in July 2016 for a two-year contract and was subsequently promoted to lead the side in the interim when Ford resigned following Sri Lanka's early exit at the Champions Trophy.

He ruled out being "emotionally attached" to his former side, but wished Bangladesh well in the tri-nation series.

Sri Lanka have named Suranga Lakmal vice-captain for the upcoming two-match Test series in Bangladesh, the island's cricket board said Sunday.

Hathurusingha travels to Bangladesh with his own problems, as his new team come out of a demoralising year.

More news: Kareena Kapoor's Veere Di Wedding release date delayed, now pushed to June

Zimbabwe will be boosted by the return of Brendan Taylor, who has not played an ODI since 2015.

Sri Lanka is the final team to qualify for the tournament that it won in 1996.

Meanwhile underdogs Zimbabwe, who face Bangladesh in the first game of the tri-nation competition Monday, are looking for a lift ahead of hosting a World Cup 2019 qualifying tournament in March.

Last month they lost a Test in South Africa by an innings and 120 runs inside two days of what was meant to be a historic four-day day-night Test.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mehedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Abul Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sunzamul Islam.

Otros informes por

Discuta este artículo